So, I’ve been reading and thinking and I just need to get going.  Here are some thoughts, in the order they make sense in my brain, to kick us off:

  • I believe, wholeheartedly, that Body Issues are about control
  • But maybe not in the way that SaturdayAfternoonSpecialsAboutNotBingeAndPurging mean it?
  • I didn’t know there were SKINNY people with eating disorders until…college?  Maybe?  Even now I kind of don’t believe it.
  • I remember thinking I was fat, and fat meant “not pretty” and “pretty” meant “loveable” so “fat” = “unloveable” in, I kid you not, kindergarten.
  • Every single member of my immediate family has an eating disorder.
  • The first time I joined WeightWatchers I was in the 8th grade.  It was a Fun Family Bonding Time activity.
  • I have never, ever, ever, in my entire life, not been fat.  Ever.  EVER.

So, I’m actually really hesitant to talk about/join in on any discussion of LovingOurBodiesAndOurselves because, as the bullet points talking to you from the top of this page might indicate: I’m kind of aware that my relationship with my weight and my body have very little to do with “health” and very much to do with “OH GOD WILL YOU PLEASE DESIRE MY BODY SO THAT I CAN BE VALIDATEDDDDD.”  I maybe don’t believe in weight-loss for health (even though my dad is, pretty literally, killing himself with his weight) because I cannot detach mental health from physical health and I have never (ever ever) gone on a diet that was about health and not my ideal body type.  Including the diet I’m on right now.  I am not kidding. I understand, on a strictly intellectual level, that diets for your health are A Thing That Is Real, and supported by science but when I read things like Claw’s first blogpost, I am filled with such rage and panic that I have to kind of shut down for a minute and take a walk and re-center.  Claw eats SO MANY VEGETABLES and RUNS SO MUCH and IS SO HEALTHY and the thought that someone could look her in the eye and say “You need to lose 25 lbs or you will die early, and because you find pleasure in eating you are doing something wrong” (which is the overly simplified message I hear when I read that) is insane to me.  I don’t believe it.  I don’t think it’s real.  At all.  Even a little bit.  That just cannot be how logic works.  Claw, in my mind, is the Epitome Of Doing Everything Right. So, yes.  There’s my bias, there it is.

I liked Mundy’s point about intuition: take a deep, mindful breath (thanks, yoga!), listen to what your body is telling you, and follow those instincts above all else.  I think this is a way I would like to live my life.  This is not the way I live my life. This is what I mean, I think, when I say that I believe Body Issues are all about control: my control over my body (and I do think of “us” as two separate and distinct entities – entities with a symbiotic relationship – but separate entities nonetheless), society’s control over me and my feelings about my body, my control over the environments I put my body in and how they influence it, etc.  In recent years, I’ve taken some combination of the “be mindful of your body’s actual needs” approach + a “fake it ’till you make it” mindset I try to use in a lot of my life to create what has been a vaguely-functional relationship with my body, food, and exercise in the past few years.

Here’s another list, to lay out what I mean:

  • While I may not believe, in my heart of hearts, that “I eat well because I care about HEALTH” is…A Thing Most Of Our Society Is Capable Of Feeling, I think it’s a really good thing to live my life like I believe.  I eat a lot of vegetables, both because they are Skinny Food and because I understand that they are Good For My Body.  I read the occasional raw food blog.  I opt for locally sourced produce and things I believe have a smaller carbon footprint.  I do these things because maybe SOME day I will care more about my body getting the nutrients it needs than I will about being skinny and I want to have a good foundation.
  • I tell myself I feel better when I work out.  I’m not 100% sure this is true, but I tell myself it is.
  • Very, VERY recently – I’ve started pushing my body outside of its comfort zone.  I hate pushing myself.  A lot.  I feel like just waking up and not loathing myself is already such an accomplishment PUSHING my body is just asking for something so outrageously above-and-beyond its laughable.  However, I’ve started trying to push my body, to push past those feelings.  I recently agreed to do a “Couch to 5k” running program with my friend Carly, in preparation to run a 5k in memory of one of our dear childhood friends who passed away when we were all first years in college.  Grace, our deceased friend, was a phenomenal cross-country runner, and running was something which always gave her joy.  It hurts my ankles, but yesterday I ran for SIXTEEN WHOLE MINUTES (not consecutively) and some of those minutes were in FIVE MINUTE CHUNKS.  My ankles hurt like shit but man…it’s kind of weird that I very literally could not have done that a week ago.
  • In my perfect world, I am able to read blogs like “The Fat Nutritionist” and be all “yeah!  Eating is totally this thing that I have a great relationship with because I don’t think of it as some fucked up ‘other’ that is controlled by weird societal rules!” but…also be a lady who considers herself desired by other people.  I think this will, some day (SOME DAY) have less to do with my actual size and more to do with my FEEELLLIIINGS.  Like my attitudes about sex, in general…less about Actions more about Feelings, etc.

Whew.  Sharing.